Troll me once; shame on me. Troll me twice; Fuck you, Valve.

by

So looking at all the glorious E3 footage I’m just not suckered in to believe that we’re getting another dosage of Left 4 Dead, something doesn’t sit right with me about it.

Think about what Valve have done; Half Life, Half Life 2, Day of Defeat Source, Counterstrike Source, Portal, Team Fortress 2, Episodic content – Valve do one thing well, they push the bar to a new limit. They try new things, they go for new styles and genres.

To me, it seems a little too gimmicky for Valve’s liking – others, right now, are against me on this stating that E3 is no place to pull marketing stunts, but Valve have always been a little ‘different’ haven’t they? Even the box-art is a blatant ‘up yours’ from Valve, so I’m crossing my fingers and hoping that Valve will throw a nice ‘Gotcha!’ our way and possibly unveil some news of Episode 3, if not then there’s a lot of disgruntled fans waiting to boycott whatever cheap spin-off they may try to peddle us.

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Troll me once; shame on me. Troll me twice; Fuck you, Valve.”

  1. erik Says:

    aren’t they going to have to create an entire new engine for ep3? source is definately starting to look quite dated. i guess l4d2 would be a simple way to start rolling out some of the new features.

    the fact that the 2 characters i’ve seen look like luigi and uncle phil make me wonder though.

  2. ad_hominem Says:

    I was under the impression that Ep 3 will be one of the last Source games, and Half-Life 3 will be where a new engine will be brought in. No idea where I got that from though.

  3. Colter Says:

    I don’t know, it looks pretty fun and true to Left 4 Dead. November 17 is still very far away from now, but people act as if it tomorrow. I, for one, would not mind getting this ‘Left 4 Dead 2’ because it does look pretty different from the first. They definitely mixed up the game play, added new content and features, and added come new aesthetic themes. It may not be as different as TF1 to TF2, but does Left 4 Dead really need a make over? Besides that, IGN said they got to see a lot more of the game including more of the levels and campaigns so this game does appear pretty legit… Maybe Valve is just very proud at the success of Left 4 Dead? Maybe it is some elaborate ploy? Maybe Valve really does like to toy with it’s fans? Hopefully, at least, we will find out in the coming days.

  4. erik Says:

    iirc episode 3 will end the gordon freeman story arc that’s been going since hl and valve prety much consider eps1, 2 and 3 to be half life 3. i read that from valve a year or so ago so they might have changed their mind though.

Leave a Reply

